Onward!

I read this book a few months ago, but it really spoke to me and has really helped in motivating me in my career, so I thought I’d share it with you! For those interested in business, entrepreneurship, marketing, branding, public relations or just addictive good coffee, ONWARD: How Starbucks fought for Its Life without Losing Its Soul by Howard Schultz is an excellent read.

Basically, the story tells of how Howard Schultz made the decision to not only return at Starbuck’s ceo, but how he turned the company around once he returned.  I read it from cover to cover in just a few days and am anxiously awaiting it to come out in paperback so I can buy it and mark it up!  Until then, I took some of my favorite passages and made copies of them.  I’m planning on (eventually) making them into some sort of wall art for my office.

Howard Schultz, ceo of Starbucks - click for source

There were a lot of little gems here for the marketing/branding nerd in me ( like why ceo is lowercase), but it was very interesting to see his process – the strategy behind everything leading up to his eventual return to the company, what he did once he returned, his brilliant ideas and the ones that failed. (I am really kicking myself right now that I don’t have the actual book to reference.  Darn you, expensive hardcover books!)

It was a bit hefty at 400+ pages and I do admit to skimming through some of the more detailed, financial/business parts (I SO don’t do math). However, I found that the bigger picture story was interesting to me not only from a PR/marketing standpoint but from an overall business standpoint as well.

Question: What books are you reading right now? This was certainly one of my standouts in the past few months. I’m in a book club and will be reviewing those books as we go along. This month’s book is Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld.  Completely different than the first book we read of hers, American Wife, but it’s very reminiscent of my adolescent years attending an all-girls Catholic school.  I don’t know yet if that’s a good thing or a bad thing…

Leave a Reply

