Work It

Yesterday, I told you that I finding the motivation to try the Fitnessista’s Schweaty July Elliptical workout.  I dragged my tush off the couch, made it to the gym and rocked the workout.  I had some snafus with my iPod and ended up doing an extra few minutes on the elliptical.  Not a problem for me, but my glutes were screaming for the majority of the afternoon/evening.

The workout definitely lived up to its name – I went in during the morning (usually a quiet time at the gym) wearing an Under Armour tank top and shorts.  I came out wearing a drenched top and swampy shorts (yeah, I said it…swampy.) The humidity outside didn’t help at all.  However, I felt SO good. I’ve been looking for a way to shake up my elliptical routine and this totally did the trick.

Now, for the playlist.

Song #1: warm-up –  “Shimmer” by Fuel

Song #2: tempo climb – “Break Your Heart” by Taio Cruz ft. Ludacris

Song #3: sprints – “I Like That” by Houston ft. Chingy, I-20 and Nate Dogg

Song #4: steady climb –“Sex & Reruns” by Matt Duke

Song #5: recover – “Call on Me” (Radio Edit) by Eric Prydz

Song #6: intense climb – “Keep on Loving You” by REO Speedwagon (note: this video is super 80s awesomeness)

Song #7: quick climb – “A Pen and a Piece of Mind” by Houston Calls

Song #8: cool down – “Untouched” by the Veronicas

It could definitely use a few tweaks, but it worked and I’m happy with how I could feel it working both during and after the workout.  I’ll surely be adding it as a regular in my exercise routine 🙂

Sorry for the lack of photos, but I was NOT taking pictures of my uber schweaty self!

Question: What do you do to mix up your workouts? I try to get a weight session in every week with a few days of cardio, but that routine’s been in place for a while. Even though I want to maintain my weight right now, a bit of muscle confusion now and then never hurts…

Leave a Reply

