Celebration Saturday

I’m dubbing today Celebration Saturday because I have  two events in honor of two great people.

First up, my friend Liz’s bridal shower.  Liz and I have known each other for a few years now. We met playing kickball here in Baltimore.  She’s become a dear friend to me and is always there to provide any sort of advice I could imagine needing. She’s a great mentor and friend and I am glad to be a part of her wedding in September.

Lemon Balls 2010

That being said, I forgot how much work goes into planning a bridal shower and I’m not even the matron of honor! Liz picked a great girl, Kim, for that role.  She’s organized this thing from start to finish – creating centerpieces, coordinating games, picking and working with the venue, serving as the go-to person for decisions – I don’t know what we would have done with out her. She’s fantastic.

We’re having the shower at Boordy Vineyards. I’ve never been and am excited to view the space and taste some Maryland wines. Liz works as a wine-tasting consultant for Boordy in her spare time so we thought it would be nice to celebrate her in a space where she’s comfortable but also allow us to throw her a great event at a discounted price.

I always get nervous before throwing events and will happy when it’s over. As much as I love a good time, I want things to be perfect for the bride-to-be.

Next up on the celebration train is a going-away gathering for my friend Andrew.  Lumi (as all of us high school gang refer to him) has recently passed the bar and accepted a position as a prosecutor in Wicmoico County! We’re all very proud of him, but are sad to see him leaving Baltimore. It certainly won’t be the same without him! His shindig is tonight starting at the Midtown Yacht Club and ending who knows where. Should be a good time and I’ll be seeing some people I haven’t caught up with in ages.

me and the boys at their senior prom in 2001

Whew! I’m probably going to need a nice nap in between events, but I’m so happy for both of these people. Congratulations, Liz and  Lumi 🙂

Leave a Reply

