Wicked

For my birthday/our one-year anniversary this past November, the JA took me up to NYC to see Wicked. I’ve been a musical lover from the beginning – Sound of Music is one of my all-time faves –  and I had heard rave reviews about the show.  However, I was unprepared for the total awesomeness of it all.

For those of you who aren’t familiar, Wicked provides backgrounds to the major characters found in The Wizard of Oz. The tagline for the show is, “So much happened before Dorothy dropped in.”

I had read the book prior to viewing the musical and wasn’t impressed. The book was written in great detail and I ended up skimming over a lot of it. I knew the general gist, but being a person who does much better with a visual representation, the musical did wonders for my understanding of the plot.

click image for source

The last time I had been up to New York to see a show was my senior year in high school, so I was totally due for a visit. We were there the first weekend the tree was lit in Rockefeller Center (the JA said he timed it that way. I, the schedule keeper, knew better.) We had a great time enjoying the sites and sounds of the city after the show.

Since we both enjoyed Wicked so much, we I started keeping tabs on it in the event it ever came to Baltimore. Lucky for us, it’s currently playing at the Kennedy Center in D.C. for a few weeks! We’re going this Saturday and taking our moms with us.

The moms have never met, so I’m a bit nervous. I know everything will be fine and they’re sure to get along famously. I’m just more worried about logistical problems than anything else. The JA knows this and planned the whole trip for me in a convenient, compact Word document.  This thing provides directions, times, metro fares, dinner menus…everything. He’s the best!

I can’t wait to see the show again. I hope the touring company is at least half as good as those in New York. If so, the moms will be in for a treat!

What are your plans for the weekend? Since I don’t have work tomorrow, I’m treating today as Friday and thus am completely justified in talking about weekend plans 🙂

Leave a Reply

