One Day

While viewing Bad Teacher, a preview came on promoting One Day. I saw that it was based on a book and, being one who likes to read the book first and compare it to the movie, decided to jump on it before the previews hit TV and I would have to wait forever to get my hands on a copy.

Plot Summary (straight off the back cover):
It’s 1988 and Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley have only just met. But after only one day together, they cannot stop thinking about on another. Over twenty years, snapshots of that relationship are revealed on the same day – July 15th – of each year. Dex and Em face squabbles and fights, hopes and missed opportunities, laughter and tears. And as the true meaning of this one crucial day is revealed, they must come to grips with the nature of love and life itself.

My Thoughts:
I got the book out of the library last Thursday and finished it on Monday, meaning it was a pretty quick and easy read. The portraits Nicholls paints of Dexter and Emma are intriguing and certainly relatable. They play the classic game of cat-and-mouse. Who’s attracted to who at what point? Will they ever be on the same page?

Being in my late-twenties (eek!) with many a guy friend, I certainly saw characteristics of myself or someone I know within the arc of the storyline. However, while I thoroughly enjoyed it, this is not one of those stick in my mind type books. It was a nice, fun read and certainly surprised me in the end (not in the way that you may be thinking, either…). It served as a great summer read – not too heavy, not too light, with a great balance of hopefulness, heartache, laughter and frustration. Perfect for a book club suggestion!

To see some more reviews: click here and here. To view my thoughts on other books, movies, and TV shows, check out my Reviews page.

Leave a Reply

