the Bug Whisperer

I don’t know what it is about this week, but I’ve been cursed with finding bugs EVERYWHERE. Maybe they’re to blame for my bad mood….

It all started on Sunday . The JA and I actually left the house to get food and as we’re driving to the diner, I notice a ginormous green….THING on my driver’s side mirror. It sustained the entire three-mile ride by magically hanging on to the mirror with it’s legs. Believe me when I say I was flipping out. The JA was of no help, laughing hysterically. That is, until the thing made its way across the windshield at a red light….

Being a science nerd teacher, he quickly racked his brain and told me that the insect was a katydid. And then he named him Leafy. I think he’s being sucked into the ugly Janks habit of naming everything. Below is a photo of Leafy’s sibling (appropriately dubbed Leafy 2), who I found on my back windshield this morning. He rode on Norman all the way from Owings Mills to Catonsville, including a stint on 695.  These things are ridiculous. And creepy.

Leafy 2

In addition to the Leafy family, I have encountered four spiders this week. Yes, four. Two in my shower (causing ample amount of fear during those bleary-eyed portions of my day), one dangling from it’s string IN FRONT OF MY FACE while I was putting on makeup and another dangly one in my office at work!

I find this unacceptable. These insects have been intruding into my life – much like the stinkbugs that have been a constant presence in Baltimore since, well, it seems like forever.

Oh, and I almost forgot. I kicked a toad with my bare foot on Tuesday night. It was dark outside but I felt a bump on my toe and looked down to see a toad hopping away! I quickly got down on my hands and knees to apologize.  You never know when universe karma can come back and bite you in the butt, so I’d rather be safe than sorry!

So I am asking the insect/amphibian/arachnid gods to just let me be for the remainder of this week. I’ve probably taken a few years off my life dealing with the ones that have presented themselves.

Are you okay with dealing with insects or do you flip out? the JA is not too fond of spiders, so I don’t mind dealing with them as long as I see them and they’re not suddenly dangling in front of my face (or scurrying across the floor). As for the katydids, well…I shriek like a little girl when I see one of them.

Leave a Reply

