The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Plot Summary (from book jacket):
On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein, a girl at the periphery of schoolyard games and her distracted parents’ attention, bites into her mother’s homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother’s emotions in the slice.

Rose’s gift forces her to confront the secret knowledge all families keep hidden – truths about her mother’s life outside the home, her father’s strange detachment, Joseph’s [her brother] clash with the world.

Yet as Rose grows up, she realizes there are some secrets that even her taste buds cannot discern.

My Thoughts:
You know when you hear good things about something and end up trying it only to be SEVERELY disappointed? That’s what this book was for me. It’s taken me so long to get through, simply because it didn’t grab me.

While Bender’s descriptions of the food (and the information that the main character discerns from it) are very well-written, the book as a whole wasn’t interesting. I found it dull and monotonous at some points. There’s a lot less drama than I expected and now, looking back, the plot never really seems to climax. There was no chemistry between me and this book and for that, I’m kind of sorry. I was really looking forward to enjoying it…with a glass of milk.

Oh well! On to bigger and better books 🙂

If you want another opinion, NPR seems to disagree with my sentiments.

2 thoughts on “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

  1. I’m not going to lie…I’ve never heard of this book and I was really hoping when I saw the post title this was another recipe you were sending out…for lemon cake. There’s some disappointment happening right here, right now.

    • You should know I, of all people, do not do a lot of cooking/baking at the present moment. However, now that I know you want more recipes, when I do bake, I will make sure to post it!

Leave a Reply

