Weekend Extension

In order to get their bloggers writing every day (or even every week), WordPress presents topics to spur creativity and, of course, posts.  Today’s Daily Post topic is:

Make an argument for why weekends should be longer. Different cultures expect a different amount of working hours from working people. Make a serious argument for why either you, or your entire society, should have more time away from work.

If you’ve been consistently reading Just Call Me Janks, you know that I generally have Fridays off during the summer months. Having this extra day allows me to be SUPER productive. I get errands run, bills paid, workouts complete and a multitude of other items checked off the to-do list before the actual weekend begins for everyone else. Additionally, I still check my work email, replying as needed.

Now, I understand that some of my productivity is possible because other people are still in the office.  I respect and adore them for that. However, I think everyone deserves an extended weekend at least once a month. Not the whole of society at the same time, but I do have to say that it’s nice to go to the grocery store when it’s fairly empty. It’s also nice to make a doctor’s or dentist appointment at a time that doesn’t require me taking time off from my job.

I also realize that I am somewhat of a workaholic and not everyone would use their day off as efficiently as I do.  That’s fine. Being the public relations contact for the school means that I have relationships with reporters. If they are writing a story, they contact me for information, images and interviews. That means that I kind of have to be ‘on’ at all times. I don’t have a work-issued Blackberry (yet) but I wouldn’t be surprised if I eventually received one.

I like my job, but having that extra day allows me to relax and truly enjoy/savor my weekends. I get my stuff done early, which allows me to have more time to hang out with those I enjoy.

What would you do if you had an extended weekend once a month?

Leave a Reply

