Try It Tuesday: the Green Monster

So I know I already wrote about trying the Green Monster. However, I’ve perfected it to get the green shade I wanted and also wanted to share how I’ve experienced its benefits.

For those who are unaware, a Green Monster is a smoothie choc full of good stuff including spinach or kale (giving it its green color.) There are many recipes available, but here’s a version that I concocted and have had multiple times:

handful of spinach (can be regular or baby spinach)
1 frozen banana
1 tbsp. flax seeds
4-6 cubes of ice
splash of milk (1/4 – 1/2 c.)
1 heaping tbsp. of peanut butter

I put this all in a blender and mix until smooth. The frozen banana gives the smoothie a nice ‘icy’ texture and the whole combo tastes like a peanut butter banana. Except it’s green.

The JA is not a fan of the green monster, calling it ‘gross and nasty.’ However, he has yet to try one and reap its benefits. Having this recipe allows me to get antioxidants, vegetables and fruits in a convenient package.  Once school starts, traffic becomes considerably worse and I’m trying different monster recipes out now so that I can have a healthy, easy, breakfast on-the-go.

Yesterday, I was a bit fatigued when I got home from work. After being at the beach all weekend, I knew I wanted to have a productive workout. Enter the green monster. I whipped one up, drank it before hitting the gym and man, I felt it. I was full, strong and even felt good enough to increase my weight levels for some exercises. It kept me full enough so that I wasn’t ravenous afterward, giving me the motivation to make a decent meal instead of chowing down on leftover pizza.

This morning, I decided to make some tweaks to my monster. I added blueberries and replaced peanut butter with almond butter. The blueberries make the drink a bit, well, grey. However it’s still yummy and I’m feeling refreshed and ready to face my day 🙂

Although the color may deter you from trying a green monster, I think that once you try it, you won’t find it so bad. Good luck and let me know how things turn out!

One thought on “Try It Tuesday: the Green Monster

Leave a Reply

