Movies, Mystery and Mayhem

Yesterday night, Mommy Janks and I had a girl date. We went to see The Help.

I read the book for Book Club a while back and was very excited to hear that it was being made into a movie. After reading it, I lent it to Mommy Janks and so when it finally made it to the theaters, we made the decision to see it together.

It was good – hitting all major points of the book. I remember being in more awe of the book than I was of the movie, but that’s generally the case when I read a book before seeing a movie. Mommy Janks agreed; saying that although the movie touched on all the main themes, that she wishes they explored some of intricacies of the plot more. Sigh. That’s just the way movies go. I mean, even certain Harry Potter movies didn’t impress me because they skimmed over something or portrayed it differently than in the book.

I also have been reading, despite the fact I haven’t posted a review in a while. Late last week, I finished The Violets of March by Sarah Jio. I had heard great things about it and so blindly suggested it for this month’s Book Club read.

Let me tell you, it did not disappoint. I got it from the library after we came back from the beach last Tuesday and was finished by Friday morning. That’s a quick read for me during the school year. The story centers around a recent divorcee who goes to visit her aunt to heal. While on the island, she finds a diary and gets engulfed in it, as the setting of the diary’s story is the island where she’s living. The book keeps you guessing about subjects such as love, murder and envy. I highly recommend it for those of you who are looking for a good read.

AND finally, the mayhem. The next few weeks at work are going to be hectic. We have a large event next Friday, reunions have started and then we have our alumni golf outing that next Monday. Craziness, I tell you – so please excuse any ramblings or missed days. I promise it’s not on purpose!

Leave a Reply

