Rest Day

Usually, I try to get to the gym/do some sort of work out every day during the work week so that I can hang out and enjoy my weekends. Yesterday, however, was one that I rested…and loved every second of it.

You see, after taking a week off from BodyPump, the class on Monday totally busted my butt. Literally. My glutes, hamstrings and quads were screaming afterward. Then Tuesday, even though they were still tender, I managed an awesome Arc Trainer workout. I was so proud for working through the burn – loosening up my muscles and prepping them for the other workouts I had planned this week.

btw, this is totally what I look like when Pumping 😛

Tuesday night, Mommy J. and I went to see The Help. And upon getting up from my seat, I groaned. My quads were T-I-G-H-T. I came home, stretched and went to bed, fully expecting to get some more cardio yesterday. As you can tell from the title of this post, it didn’t happen. Since I was still a little sore, I decided that the ab routine I did that morning were enough.

Do you ever just take a day to rest? I can do it with the gym, but I have a hard time taking ‘mental health days’ when everything else gets too overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

