Language of Love

Pouchoey and I were talking yesterday about how I love getting gifts (I mean, we are quickly approaching anniversary/birthday time) and she mentioned the term ‘love language.’ I disregarded it, thinking she mistyped and meant something else, until curiosity got the best of me and I asked about it. She explained to me that she had recently found a way to more easily identify your primary way of expressing and interpreting love.

photo by the amazing Mike Scrivener (www.mikescrivener.com)

The theory was developed by Dr. Gary Chapman, who believes that everyone has a love language, and we all identify primarily with one of the five love languages. His research has found that, most often, people are attracted to those who have a different love language than their own.

The five languages of love are as follows:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

Now, I don’t necessarily buy into this theory, but it got me thinking about relationships and how we interact with our partners. It also made me think about how the JA and I differ in our relationship and how it would be interesting to see his results (although, I doubt he’ll want to actually sit down and take it.) Even without him taking the quiz, doing this helped me in realizing how I best receive love and how I can better articulate this to him. Who knows? It could end up really helping us in strengthening our relationship!

What do you think your love language is? If you took the quiz, was the result different than you expected?

2 thoughts on “Language of Love

  1. I got the highest scores in physical touch and words of affirmation—100% agree. My lowest were receiving gifts and acts of service. Very interesting! Trying to get Steve to take the husband one 😉

Leave a Reply

