Pass Out at 3, Wake Up at 10, Go Out to Eat & Then Do It Again..

As you know, yesterday the fam celebrated Mommy J.’s birthday. We had crab cakes and cupcakes for dinner – who could ask for anything more?

top row: Blackbottom, middle row: Baton Rouge Red Velvet, bottom left: Outer Banks Chocolate, lower right:Nantucket Vanilla on vanilla. All from Fresh Bakery - http://www.freshbakeryonline.com/

That was all well and good but my head was still stuck at dinner the night prior. A co-worker, the JA and I went down to University of Maryland College Park to have dinner with some recent alumni. We ate dinner at Ledo Restaurant and, honestly, I was disappointed. Normally, Ledo is one of my favorite places for pizza (pineapple and pepperoni all the way!), but they were out of pineapple. So we ordered a few options. Totally not the same.

But the company rocked. It was so great to see the kids, hear about their first-semester at college and tell them about what’s going on at school.

As if that weren’t enough, we ran into some old friends…

Kermit?! Funny running into you here!

On the car ride home, we pumped some ‘old-school’ tunes. I was transported back to walking across Penn State’s campus in the spring. To the last night out before graduation. To my first concert on the campus center lawn. To the football games that I remember were awesome, but for reasons other than the score.

Truth: there are still times that I miss college. But sitting there with these boys mad me realize that my time has passed. While it’s great to go back and visit, I’m not in that place anymore. I’m somewhere more stable, more comfortable and more exciting in its own way.

What do you miss/enjoy most about college?

2 thoughts on “Pass Out at 3, Wake Up at 10, Go Out to Eat & Then Do It Again..

  1. I had similar feelings when I went back to my alma mater for Homecoming Weekend a couple weeks ago. It was so strange to be back on campus, feeling as if I’d never left, while at the same time knowing I no longer belonged. I LOVED college, and wouldn’t change my experience for anything – it’s been a huge part of shaping who I am today – but I also love where I am right now, smack dab in the middle of adulthood 🙂

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets ‘school sick’! I would love to go back for Homecoming, but it’s not in the cards this year 😦

      It sounds like you’re in a nice place right now – recognizing your school pride but also satisfied where you are in your adult life. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

