Being Well In 2012

The JA and I rung in the new year at an annual party hosted by our friends. It’s always a good time and we spent most of yesterday on the pullout couch resting and enjoying the last few days of break. (We are lucky and don’t have to work today.)

I generally try to set some goals for myself each year (both professional and personal) and thought I’d share a few with you. I find it’s easier to be held accountable if you tell other people your goals. It somehow makes it more real.

So, without further ado:

1. Relax more – especially regarding the wedding planning process. I’m totally a Type A personality and need to make a concerted effort to calm myself down. Whether that means taking a night off from blogs/wedding websites or getting a massage, I need to take care of me. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that, at the end of the day, the only important thing is us, a few witnesses and a marriage license.

2. Try new exercise routines/classes. I get into a rut with exercising and have a few things in mind to try in 2012. Being a creature of routine is great, but shaking things up every once in a while is important, too.

3. Make myself a factor in the kitchen. Living at home, I am fortunate to have most of the cooking done for me. The JA cooks our Tuesday night dinners. It’s time for me to step up to the plate and use all those yummy recipes I’ve bookmarked along the way. If any of y’all have recipes to die for, let me know!

4. Get more involved at work. Now that I’m marrying one of the more popular young teachers at school, the kids know me as Mrs. JA. As nice as that is, it’s been a constant goal of mine to be more widely recognized at school as a go-to resource for marketing and public relations services. Regarding the students, it’s high school! I totally want to be one of the cool kids. Why do you think I have candy in my office?!

Those are the big ‘umbrella’ goals that will most likely be broken down into smaller, more measurable items. I’ve found that a big help in measuring progress is to have specific, quantifiable goals.

So, here’s to 2012!

What are you hoping to accomplish this year?

Leave a Reply

