Why Living at Home (Still) Rocks

I am 28 years old. I live at home. I love it. Here are a few of the reasons why.

#1 – My parents are totally cool. Also, I don’t really like being alone in a house/apartment.

#2 – Food. I woke up on Sunday to the smell of this being cooked. Awesomeness. I went up in my jammies and Mommy J. has it warming in the oven for me.

#3 – Saving money. I’m lucky in that my parents don’t charge me rent (or for groceries, or utilities.) Since, the JA and I will be starting our lives together in just a few months, any money saved for our future will help us achieve our goals quicker than we would had I been out and about these past few years.

#4 – Sickness. When I’m not feeling well, Mommy Janks takes care of me. Being pampered is the best!

#5 – Cleaning. Taking care of a living space can be a full-time job. While I clean my bedroom and bathroom, all the other spaces are Mommy J.’s responsibility. Frees up a lot of time for..trash tv?

So, as nice and grown up as having an apartment (again) will be, I’m going to continue to savor my time here at Casa de Janks.

Another plus? Since the JA has Ravens season tickets, I’ve already told him that he should not expect me to be at our place during football season. Big Blue (my parent’s couch) is just too difficult to quit cold turkey!

If you live at home, what’s your favorite perk? If you’re on your own, what do you miss most?

5 thoughts on “Why Living at Home (Still) Rocks

  1. Honestly, I can’t imagine living at home at 28. I would think it’s weird to still have mom cooking breakfast and doing things for me.

    I love my parents, but parents should give you roots–but also encourage you to go out on your own–forge your own paths–live your own life. Plus, they would drive me freaking NUTS if I had to live with them as an adult. I can barely last 3 days on a visit.

    And seriously, you don’t pay any bills? or rent? No offense–but you don’t even feel the least little bit bad about having a free ride for years. At least tell me you’ve socked way like 25k towards buying a house–what with all the money you’ve been saving over the years on rent and food? .

    • To each their own! I appreciate you sharing your thoughts. My parents have, in fact, given me roots – allowing me to live my own life under their roof while giving me the opportunity to save money for a house (however much that may be is certainly none of your business). As I mentioned, this is something for which I am extremely grateful. In fact, this is something that I hope to be able to do for my children someday. I understand that it’s not for everyone, but for me…it’s working out just fine.

  2. I’m so jealous that you get to live at home! I’m happily married and live with my hubs, but I can’t tell you how much my mom and I wish we had more time and opportunities to spend together (she’s in TX and I’m here 😦 ). It’s amazing how differently you view your parents and ‘home’ after college and as you mature. You definitely appreciate it differently. I hope your time with your family is sensational. I think living with parents or ‘at home’ is totally the norm now especially due to the recession. You should be proud that you’re saving and making great decisions for you and yours. I’ve always appreciated it when Jeff’s or my parents opened their homes to us just in case we had hard times or just in case we really needed their comfort. Nothing beats a momma bear hug!

    • Thanks for your thoughts! It is really nice knowing that I have the option to stay here, save, and be financially more secure for the future. Between car loans and student loans and all the other fun stuff ahead (cough, cough, mortgage, cough, cough), it’s great to just sit and relax for a bit. My relationship with my parents is not always at its best and there are certainly days when I just want to move out and never come back. However, I know they appreciate me and (most days) like having an extra person to vent or who will listen as they share their day. The hugs certainly aren’t taken for granted, either 😉

  3. Pingback: Blogiversary x2 | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

