What’s Love (Got to Do with It)?

Unintentionally, my life has been filled with love stuff lately.

#1 – The JA and I completed our PreCana classes on Sunday and began to amass furniture for our future home.
#2 – Monday night, I watched Paper Heart.
#3 – Yesterday, I finished reading Sing You Home.

Since I already discussed how PreCana has positively impacted my thoughts on love and marriage, let’s chat about the other two.

Paper Heart – This documentary follows comedienne Charlyne Yi and her quest to figure out her thoughts about love and how it relates to her life. During the course of the film, Charlene enters into her first ‘real’ relationship. I’m not going to spoil anything, but the movie follows a When Harry Met Sally style – interviewing couples (and singles) about their thoughts on love, how to determine when you are/aren’t in love, etc. It certainly made me think about my past relationships, the love (both platonic and romantic) surrounding me now and those casualties that happened along the way.

Sing You Home by Jodi Picuolt (click title for synopsis) – In today’s day and age, there are many types of love. This novel explores the intricacies of when one love dies, another blossoms and the ramifications of those in the middle. It also discusses how religion and science can be used to illustrate points both for and against homosexuality in regard to childbearing and raising.

I highly recommend both for any stage of love, like or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

