Try It Tuesday: TOMS

So I may be a little late to hop on this bandwagon, but holy majoley…TOMS shoes.

If you’re like me and not fully acquainted with the TOMS brand, here’s some background from their website:

The TOMS Story
TOMS was founded in 2006 by Blake Mycoskie, inspired by a trip to Argentina where he saw extreme poverty and health conditions, as well as children walking without shoes. That’s when he recognized the traditional Argentine alpargata shoe as a simple, yet revolutionary solution. He quickly set out to reinvent the alpargata for the U.S. market with a simple goal: to show how together, we can create a better tomorrow by taking compassionate action today.

To realize this mission, Blake made a commitment to match every pair of TOMS purchased with a new pair given to a child in need. One for One. “I was so overwhelmed by the spirit of the South American people, especially those who had so little,” Mycoskie said. “And I was instantly struck with the desire — the responsibility — to do more.”

I was a little apprehensive about buying a pair full price even though I know that buying a pair directly from TOMS supports a good cause. So when I saw a pair at Uptown Cheapskate (they looked as if they hadn’t been worn – I don’t do used shoes. Gross.), I snagged them.

And I’ll be darned if I haven’t worn them almost every day since. I absolutely love them. They are much more flattering on my feet than I thought and are incredibly comfortable. Honestly, I’m contemplating getting a glitter pair for the reception.

ooooh, ahhhh.

If you’re on the fence like I was, I recommend sucking it up and getting a pair. TOMS come in a variety of styles, including a new line of ballet flats. These shoes are so comfortable, support a good cause, and can be worn with pants, capris, shorts, and even some skirts and dresses!

Enjoy this post? It’s part of my Try It Tuesday series. Click here to see reviews & other things I recommend!

One thought on “Try It Tuesday: TOMS

Leave a Reply

