Try It Tuesday: Revenge

No, no, no, I’m not condoning not revenge as in actually getting back at someone for something they’ve done to you. Rather, I’m suggesting Revenge, the ABC tv show.

Although it’s on at 10 p.m. on Wednesdays (after Modern Family), I try to make it a point to stay awake and watch. It’ riveting and suspenseful with a touch of cheese-tastic drama.

cast (click image for source)

According to the website,

“REVENGE is universal. As primal as the need for love, sex, or the feeding of a searing hunger. Revenge crosses time and culture. It starts unwinnable wars and visits generations of blood feuds on families with unsettled scores. Revenge is as old as humanity. Dark and dramatic and endless.” – – Mike Kelley, Creator of REVENGE

Wealth, beauty and status define the people in this town, but one woman is willing to destroy everyone for the sake of revenge.

Emily Thorne (Emily Van Camp) is new to the Hamptons. She’s met some of her wealthy neighbors, has made a few new friends and seemingly blends into the town. But something is a little odd about a young girl living in a wealthy town all on her own, and the truth is that Emily isn’t exactly new to the neighborhood. In fact, this was once her old neighborhood, until something bad happened that ruined her family and their reputation. Now Emily is back, and she’s returned to right some of those wrongs in the best way she knows how – with a vengeance.

While the show can be, at times, a bit teen-dramaish, the suspenseful plot keeps me coming back for more. The season is most likely coming to and end, but if you’re looking for something to catch up on over the summer, I’d recommend Revenge.

Did you like this review? If so, check out other things I recommend on my Reviews/Try It Tuesday page.

2 thoughts on “Try It Tuesday: Revenge

  1. Revenge comes on at 10pm WEDNESDAYS, not Tuesdays.

    I’m suprised a good Catholic such as yourself would lower your standards to watch a show that is chock full of premarital sex, drugs, violence, and yes, revenge. After all, aren’t you supossed to turn the other cheek, forgive and forget, and all those other platitudes that make a good Christian (and especially Catholic)?

    And we are supossed to believe that JA isn’t living with you, too? I’m not buying this whole, “I need to live on my own before I get married” spiel. I’m thinking that if he’s paying half the rent, he’s there at least 50% of the week. Why would you move out of your cushy parents house where you are waited on hand and food, laudnry is done for you, meals are fixed for you, so that you can be “independent” for a few breif months you get married and become dependent on ANOTHER person to take care of you?

    And I just LOVED your post on budgeting, and then the next post about spending $500 for an iPad. Your priorities are really weird. I thought your wedding would be top priority–but I forget that you parents are dropping $20k on your wedding–not you.

    • I don’t think you’re being a bully – this is America; you have the right to freedom of speech. I’m glad to see you exercising that right.

      Regarding the typo: Try It Tuesday is a series where I recommend things to people. It doesn’t mean that the event or show needs to be viewable on Tuesday.

      Regarding for my living situation: You seem to have already made up your mind about it. Therefore, I don’t see it necessary to defend or explain my reasoning behind moving out to you.

      Regarding the iPad: It’s not an immediate purchase. As any good budgeter knows, a goal is always good to have in mind – to make changes and save for something you want. I was simply getting preemptive opinions regarding the iPad to see if it was worth the investment.

      As always, thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

