Try It Tuesday: Texas Chilie Dip

Whatever you have planned for the rest of the week, put it off. Make this dip. You can thank me later. My good friend (and co-matron of honor) Pouchoey made this dip last year for a tailgate and was kind enough to pass along the recipe. I completely forgot about it until I offered to host Book Club and was in need of a somewhat healthy snack. I dug up the recipe and, let me tell you, it was a hit.

In fact, this dip is so good that I’m making it again this week for when the JA has friends coming into town. The ingredients are in my house, but I’m putting off making it until mid-week. Why, you ask? Because I know the minute it’s finished, I will have a chip in hand ready to taste test a little (or a whole heck of a lot).

Without further ado….

Texas Chilie Dip

Mix together in a bowl:

2 cups frozen corn
1 can black beans, drained
1 can pinto beans, drained
1 cup chopped red or green pepper (I use red for color, and generally put in one whole medium sized pepper)
1 small can jalapenos, drained
1 bunch green onion, chopped (all white and green parts) – OPTIONAL

In a sauce pan, bring to a boil:

1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp water
1/2 tsp pepper
3/4 cup cider vinegar
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Boil ingredients until sugar dissolves. Let cool. Pour liquid mixture over ingredients in the bowl. Let marinate overnight in the refrigerator. Drain liquid off. Serve with chips!

You’re welcome.

Hey! If you liked this recipe, check out other delightful things I’ve made on my Recipes page.

Leave a Reply

