Try It Tuesday: Old Bay Chicken Salad

I apologize in advance for those of you who don’t have access to the wonderful goodness that is Old Bay. Growing up in Maryland, there’s nothing that screams ‘home’ more to me than crabs covered in Old Bay, a cold Natty Boh, and Berger cookies. In fact, it never occurred to me that people would grow up without knowing the taste of each of these wonders until I went to Penn State. To put it mildly, I was taken aback and immediately put in a call to my parents asking for a care package so as to educate my poor, Pennsylvania-dwelling friends.

Anyway, I digress. This weekend, I was seeking a light, pre-graduation snack and whipped this together. When it was finished, I looked at the empty bowl with so much dismay that I knew it had to be on the list for lunch/dinner (or both) this week.

This is not a scientific recipe, so edit as you see fit!

Old Bay Chicken Salad

3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked and cubed (I cooked mine in a skillet with no seasoning)
1-2 stalks celery, diced
a few shakes of paprika
pepper to taste (I put a light dusting on)
Old Bay to taste (sprinkled liberally so it covers most of the chicken)
1 1/2 – 2 tbsp. mayo (I used mayo made with olive oil – totally makes it healthier, right?)
2-3 broccoli crowns, depending on size, split into smaller pieces

Mix everything together in a bowl. Taste at will for quality assurance purposes. Restrain yourself from eating it all in one sitting.

Like this recipe? I remixed it a few times with the same amazing taste. Check out the other ways to make it on my Recipes page.

3 thoughts on “Try It Tuesday: Old Bay Chicken Salad

  1. I made this with onion in place of the broccoli. I have been craving anything old bay. Hopefully my WY friends will love a MD twist on chicken salad. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

