On Over-stimulation and Motivation

With the onset of summer hours at work, I’ve realized that my attention span is half of what it is on a normal workday. I’m more easily distracted which leads to less productivity. When I’m not productive, I’m not as happy.

as always, click image for source

Therefore, I recently instituted a rule that I will only check my personal email, Facebook, Twitter and Google Reader at designated intervals. I need to be on Facebook and Twitter for work purposes, so I can’t cut them out completely. I’ve also cut down on my blog reading. (Sorry ’bout it wedding blogs – there are too many of you!)

I only started this yesterday, but it really made a difference. However, today is Friday and Fridays are the worst days for my ADD tendencies, so we’ll see how things go.

In other news, I figured it was high time I joined Goodreads.

I haven’t been so good with updating the blog with each book I read and a review. With my handy Goodreads widget (on the sidebar of the home page), you can see what I’m currently reading, my thoughts on books I’ve already completed and check out my list of books I’m hoping to read soon. I’m hoping this will keep me more accountable for my book reading and reporting. If you’re a bookworm too, I highly suggest it. I joined yesterday afternoon and already love it.

That’s all for now, folks! Have a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

