Too Late, Cantaloupe Now!

I bought my first cantaloupe of the season this week. After cutting it up, I realized I had way too much on my hands and decided to search for some smoothie recipes. I have a smoothie for breakfast every morning and figured it was the best way to rid myself of the fruit in a timely fashion.

I whipped one together this morning using the following:

2/3 of a small peach, diced and frozen
approx. 1/2 c. cantaloupe, cubed and frozen
1 c. spinach
1 c. milk (probably could have done with 3/4 c.)
1/4 c. protein powder

Delicious (and look at that color)! Yet, it left a little to be desired. I think next time I’ll only freeze one of the fruits instead of both. However, freezing does make a difference in overall smoothie texture – especially when using more watery fruits like melons, peaches and berries.

Unfortunately, that did not help much in depleting my melon supply.

Thank heaven for Google. I quickly entered in cantaloupe recipes and was presented with a few other enticing recipes that may have to make an appearance on my table sometime soon. (As always, click image for source)

Frozen Melon-Margarita Pops

Cucumber Melon Salsa

Cantaloupe Sorbet

One thought on “Too Late, Cantaloupe Now!

  1. I remember a laughing fit brought on by the joke you made about “eatin’ cantaloupe. Cuz…I can’t elope! HEEEHEEHEE!” circa 2000-2001. Couldve been a Sunday night thing.

Leave a Reply

