Book Review: The Happiness Project

Synopsis (from back book cover):Gretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. “The says are long, but the years are short,” she realized. “Time is passing, and I’m not focusing enough on the things that really matter.” In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project.

In this lively and compelling account, Rubin chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test-driving the wisdom for the ages, current scientific research, and lesson from popular culture about how to be happier. Among other things, she found that novelty and challenge are powerful sources of happiness; that money can help buy happiness, when spent wisely; that outer order contributes to inner calm; and that the very smallest of changes can make the biggest difference.

My Thoughts:
After having this book recommended to me by not only one of my best friends but also a Book Club member, I decided to give it a go. For all the hype, I have to say I was a bit disappointed.

The book provides an outline regarding tactics that Rubin believed would make her happier. She divided them up into categories and tackled a different category each month. The book itself was a slower read for me, but I think it’s only because I was getting inspired to make lists and small changes in my life. She adds the caveat that since everyone is different, her strategy might not work for everyone and each of us will have our own areas of improvement. Some of her ideas were certainly very relevant to me – others, not so much.

While it did prove to be an interesting read, it’s a book that certainly isn’t as ‘easy’ as it seemed. I found that perusing the blog associated with the book was much more my speed and gave more ideas for one’s own happiness project than the book itself.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Happiness Project

  1. I thought it was interesting, but I was also disappointed. I gleaned small things to remember like, “Be nice to your husband sometimes even if you don’t want too” but otherwise I wasn’t really connected to her for some reason. I felt she was always on the surface of things.

    • I completely agree. It’s got some great tips to try, but I was hoping I’d get more of her personality from it as well as a bit more feeling of transformation.

Leave a Reply

