Own Worst Critic

With about a month or so to go until the JA and I get married, I’ve found it increasingly difficult to balance my personal life, professional life, and ‘extra-curricular’ activities. Yesterday, I really thought the post-work meeting I had was going to result in some bad news, but it ended up quite well and I feel much better about balancing the upcoming wedding with my other responsibilities.

I’ll admit that tend to take on a lot of things at once and I’m a bit hard on myself. (I mean, look at how freaked out I got over my first review at my current job.) At my previous employer, it seemed that we were expected to be as close to perfect as possible in our efforts – every day, every time. That thought process has plagued me since, both in and out of the office.

(click for source) Easier said than done, right?

It’s not that I don’t strive to do well, but sometimes we all fall a bit short. Life is a continuous balancing act and it’s nice to give yourself a break once in a while. I tend to put pressure on myself and then (inevitably) have some sort of meltdown. It’s time to break that cycle: make a concerted effort to manage myself, take a deep breath, and voice when I can’t take on any more projects, stress, or housework.

Asking for help obviously isn’t my strong suit. Yet, by letting people help me out once in a while may not be so bad. Maybe I’ll start by having the JA make the seating chart for the reception ;P

Have any good stress management tips? I’d love to hear ’em!

Leave a Reply

