Make A Difference

Helping others through service has always been a part of my life. I can honestly say that one of the greatest ways to feel like you’re making an impact is to volunteer. In elementary school, my family helped others through food and clothing drives at school and church. During high school, my commitment to service increased by volunteering to help at a summer camp for underprivileged children. During college, I increased my volunteer efforts by participating in the largest student-run philanthropy in the world and by serving at Habitat for Humanity over Spring Break one year.

Since I left college and entered the working world, I’m sad to say that my volunteer efforts have fallen to the wayside. Periodically, I look for opportunities but have not committed to one yet. One of my friends sent an email out last week about an organization that caught my eye.

Higher Achievement just opened a few locations in Baltimore and is in need of motivated people to help make the difference in the life of middle-school aged youth from at-risk communities. The organization provides a year-round program that includes an After-School Academy that runs from October to May and a six-week Summer Academy. The Summer Academy also includes an overnight college trip, the scholars’ introduction to college life. Higher Achievement also has offices in Washington, DC, Alexandria, VA, Richmond, VA and Pittsburgh, PA>

All training is done through Higher Achievement and mentors are only required to be there for a few hours one day a week. Sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me! To learn more, visit their website or attend their happy hour this Friday.

Working in the education field for a few years, I’ve witnessed firsthand the effects that a teacher can have on their students. Granted, I work at a private school – a far cry from some of the public schools in Baltimore, but I still know the feeling of success when you see a student improve due to your aid and guidance. So if you’re looking for a great opportunity in any of these cities, get out there and apply!

2 thoughts on “Make A Difference

  1. I don’t think I can make the happy hour on Friday, but I’d like to learn more and help out if I can 🙂 Is the best way to apply on the website?

Leave a Reply

