Hey There, Chickie

Chickie, as in chickpea. We’re low on groceries and with the temperature still pretty warm for October, I wanted to mix up my meals a bit. So I did what any 20-something girl would do – turned to Pinterest.

I’m one of those people who pins and doesn’t often refer back to them – especially when it comes to meals. Yesterday changed all that.

I was inspired by this recipe but when push came to shove, I didn’t want to buy the ingredients we didn’t already have on hand. So I altered things and came up with this.

forgive the photo, I’m obviously not a food blogger!

Chickpea Salad

4-5 nice sized basil leaves, coarsely chopped
1 can chickpeas, drained
6-7 grape tomatoes, each sliced in half
a few good squirts of Ken’s Lite Raspberry Walnut Vinaigrette dressing
1/4 c. feta cheese

Mix ingredients together in a bowl. Let sit for about 10 minutes. Eat.

For me, it’s good but still missing something – I’m thinking pepper, the JA thought cucumber. I have both on hand and will report back with which filled the flavor gap.

Leave a Reply

