Fishy

The JA and I have always said that we should eat more healthy foods. Therefore, one of my goals for 2013 is to spend less time in front of the TV and more time in the kitchen. As a sub-goal, I’ve challenged myself to cook/bake two new recipes per month.

When I saw tilapia on sale last week, it became my first ‘new to us’ dish in February. I adapted this Real Simple recipe by using ingredients we already had. I subbed the fresh lemon juice with fake, cooked the fish in a stove top griddle instead of a grill, and using a store-bought rice and quinoa mix in lieu of the couscous.

tilapia

Verdict? A little plain for us. We’re savory people, who like a bit of spice. The tilapia turned out well, but since it’s a bland fish to start, we felt it needed a swifter kick. He chose Old Bay to flavor his pieces, I went with cayenne pepper. Adding those to the fish may have added a bit more sodium, but they also gave us the taste we desired. We plan on playing with this recipe a bit more, but it was quick, easy, and healthier than some of our other go-to meals.

fish

Any suggestions for recipes to try? Remember that I’m not the main cook in the house, so the easier the better!

3 thoughts on “Fishy

  1. One of our favorite family Sunday dishes

    marinate chicken breasts in lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, and whatever spices you like
    grill
    serve with rice, green salad, pita bread and low fat tzatziki dip

    Enjoy!

    Aunt Sally

    And congratulations to the Ravens. Job well done. Look forward to the matchups next year!

    • Thanks, Aunt Sally! We’ll definitely have to try that recipe and we’re VERY excited about the Super Bowl win. Already looking forward to next season – especially those Steelers games!

  2. I think tilapia is WAY too bland too! A tablespoon or two of Old Bay helps. Salmon is good with the right stuff, and I like smoked trout too. (Fishay- Fishay?)

Leave a Reply

