Band-it

You guys. I had no idea that a random post about music (that also included wedding photos) would be so popular. I hope y’all enjoyed it!

With that in mind, today I want to address an interesting conversation that occurred at Book Club last week. The majority of us are married/engaged and we were talking about wedding bands.

wedding band kiss

Some ladies never take theirs off. Some take them off (and leave them off) more frequently. Some sleep with them on. Some can’t imagine that idea. Some spent a lot of money on their husband’s bands, others bought them from Amazon with the thought that if it was lost, it wouldn’t be the end of the world to replace.

Here’s my take on the subject: we bought the JA’s ring at the mall, since he wanted to compare/contrast different ring types/textures/weight. It was a bit more expensive than others, but he rarely takes it off and thus reduces the likelihood of loss. I wanted him to have something he’d actually wear, instead of something we picked out online randomly.

As for me, I take my rings off a lot. I take them off around water (shower, washing face, washing dishes, bathing dog, ocean), while applying lotion, while cooking and when using weights at the gym. I have small dishes around the house to hold them during these activities and when I can’t locate them, I’m making a mad dash to check each one. I wear them when I sleep because it just feels weird without them!

My parents have matching wedding bands that have never been replaced. On our wedding day, my mother requested a photo of their rings along with ours. I happily obliged. We invited the JA’s parents to participate as well. It gave his father an opportunity to replace his band, which he lost a few years ago. It’s one of my favorite pictures from the day – so much history and love to share!

family rings bw close up

To me, our rings are an outward symbol of our love and commitment that was expressed on our wedding day. It’s much more than a piece of jewelry and something that I can’t imagine going through life without.

So, married/engaged ladies – how often do you wear your rings? All the time? Rarely? What about your husbands?

Photos taken by Helen Macaulay, Associate Photographer with Maria Linz Photography.

Leave a Reply

