The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing

I have a goal to read at least 24 books this year. Ideally, this will break down to two books per month – one will be the book for my Book Club, the other will be one of my personal choice.

While waiting for this month’s book to become available from the library, I picked up this gem.

Girls Guide to Hunting & Fishing

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
Hailed by critics as the debut of a major literary voice, The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing dazzled and delighted readers and topped bestseller lists nationwide. Now, in anticipation of her upcoming new work of fiction, The Wonder Spot, Penguin is publishing Melissa Bank’s bestseller in a mass-market format to reach an even wider audience.

Generous-hearted and wickedly insightful, The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing maps the progress of Jane Rosenal as she sets out on a personal and spirited expedition through the perilous terrain of sex, love, and relationships as well as the treacherous waters of the workplace. With an unforgettable comic touch, Bank skillfully teases out issues of the heart, puts a new spin on the mating dance, and captures in perfect pitch what it’s like to be a young woman coming of age in America today.

My Thoughts:
A quick, easy, and entertaining read, this book was a great follow up to A Prayer for Owen Meany. it made me giggle in more places than not, shake my head in agreement, and reminisce about my own journey through life. It got better toward the end (as the title comes into play) but was enjoyable overall. While it wasn’t a book that I was dying to pick up at the end of the day, it was just want I needed at the moment.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I like to read. And eat. And do other things. For a comprehensive list of products I’ve reviewed, click here.

Leave a Reply

