Not There…Yet

I want to start this post by stating that I am NOT, repeat, NOT pregnant. Just want to make that explicitly clear before we continue.

I read this article a few days ago and immediately sent it to one of my close gal pals. She has a youngin’ and I wanted to see if everyone feels this way regarding kids. It’s been a question I’ve been begging to ask, but didn’t exactly know how to approach. It sums up my feelings right now PERFECTLY. ‘Yes! I want babies!,’ but ‘I have to push THAT out of THERE?’ (I know there are other options, but that’s the main way to go and it scares the bejesus out of me.)

crab toy

The JA and I both want children. We’ve discussed a tentative timeline about when we want to start trying, but we’ve also discussed planning it out. I know couples who’ve gotten pregnant on the first try, and ones who tried a few months before it happened. I know it can be a strenuous process, especially on the woman, and then we carry the child for another nine(ish) months. I want it to be a pleasant time, but it’s something that is completely out of my control. That also scares me a bit. This gal? Not so laid back.

I had dinner with a friend last night who is in her third trimester. She is absolutely glowing and both she and her husband are so excited to welcome their baby this summer. She told me that she was once in a similar place. Her want of children overcame everything else and, well, here they are.

I’m looking forward to getting to that point, but we’re SO not there yet. The JA and I are relishing the time that we have as a family of two humans (and one dog). Our lives are changing, but not at the pace it would were we to have a child. We love being married and are working on strengthening that bond before adding another member to our family. That being said, friends with children – let it be known that I am more than willing to babysit. It’s a win-win for everyone; you get a night out and I get to give your kids back at the end of the night!

baby feet are the best

baby feet are the best

Leave a Reply

