Inspiration

I am not a runner, but I could be. I get the urge now and again and have completed a handful of 5Ks through a combination of walking and running, but I don’t know the satisfaction of running 10, 13.1 or 26.2 miles. However, I do know what it’s like to set a goal and to achieve it. The anticipation of the start, the drudge through the middle, the light at the end of the tunnel, and the final push to the end. Looking back and seeing the result of hard work. To not only have that taken from you, but then to have it done so in such a brutal and tragic manner such as those involved with the Boston Marathon is truly heartbreaking.

The JA recently started the Couch to 5K program. Even though he’s in the beginning stages, I’ve seen how good he feels after his runs. I’ve wanted an activity that we can do together, and previously had been toying with the idea of committing to a 5K training program with a local running group. But I had put it off. Thinking I could do it myself, when I KNOW that I am more motivated when I exercise with others. Last night, I put the registration form in the mail.

I’m giving running an honest-to-goodness chance. Not just for me, but for those who no longer can. For a sport that has fulfilled and changed so many. For Boston.

Leave a Reply

