The Language of Light

Sometimes, I go ‘off the cuff’ and wander around the library searching for a book that’s not on my Goodreads list. I try not to judge books by their cover or title, but let’s face it, I totally do. I picked this book up and upon reading that the story takes place in Maryland, I was sold.

language of light

Summary (from Goodreads):
Nelly Grace is starting over. With her two young sons, Nelly has fled to the simple stone house built by her great-grandfather in the moneyed horse country of Maryland in order to escape the grief of her husband’s death—and perhaps find a way back to her first love: photography. Easing her transition into this strange, mannered world is Emma Crofton, the grand matriarch of the foxhunting community, and Emma’s son, Dac, a handsome yet distant horse trainer. As Nelly slowly makes her way back to the camera, she must come to terms with her troubled relationship with her father, a photojournalist who chose fame over family. But when she finally sees him again, Nelly’s fragile new beginning is threatened by revelations of a secret past, and the fears that kept it hidden.

My Thoughts:
This book was compelling for me, partially because of it’s hometown ties, partially because of my interest in photography, and partially because the plotline is intriguing. A lighter read with the main story relating to Nelly’s relationships (with her father, her new community, and her children), I read this book fairly quickly, gasping at the twists and turns, relishing the triumphs, and staying interested until the very end.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Found this review enjoyable? Check out my thoughts on other books and various items on my Reviews page!

2 thoughts on “The Language of Light

Leave a Reply

