Exception to the Rule

I don’t normally blog on the weekends, but when I do, it’s something that I can’t wait until Monday to share. This is one of those times.

Last night, I read this post from Katharine at From A to Pink. Katharine and I know each other from Book Club. She is a wonderfully strong, determined, talented woman with an infectious laugh and a positive outlook on life. She was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis later than most patients, and has done a fantastic job chronicling the struggles and triumphs of having a chronic disease on her blog.

Her post got to me. Not only because I know her on a personal level, but because it reminded me about the value of life – something we all need now and again.

Many people think it’s easy to blog. To sit behind a computer and type out your feelings. Yet, in reality, it can be a very scary thing. Pouring your deepest emotions out to the world – most of the time to be lifted up and supported, but also opening yourself up to others who sit, read, and judge. Every word is carefully chosen in order to not only make your point, but make it clear the way you intend it to be taken. Writing emotional posts drains you in a way you can’t even imagine, and hitting the publish button is scary.

I wanted to take the time to commend Katharine on her thought-provoking, intense, emotional, heart-wrenching post. I’m sure it wasn’t easy to write (or publish), but writing these type of posts helps enlighten those who don’t know, support and encourage those who do, and affect everyone who reads them in some way or another. Thank you.

May is Cystic Fibrosis Awareness month. For more information, I encourage you to visit www.cff.org.

Leave a Reply

