Word Nerd

At some point throughout the day, especially if it’s a hectic one, I like to glance at USA Today’s 5 Things You Need To Know. It gives me a sense of what’s going on in the world, but’s not as intense as watching the news or Twitter.

The last item today caught my eye – not only because I’m always interested in learning new words/increasing my vocabulary, but also because the state of writing and spelling in this country is becoming more and more appalling to me. It’s inspiring to see so many young people who have an interest in language.

NSBee logo

Spelling was one of my better subjects in school, and with my minor in French I felt more than ready to tackle the preliminary Scripps Bee test. My total score was a 28 – not too shabby! You bet your bottom dollar I’m returning to the site at the end of the week to see if I would have qualified for the Semifinal round!

If you’re a word nerd like me, the Scripps National Spelling Bee can be viewed on various ESPN channels (depending on the day). If watching the Bee live isn’t your thing, but you’re curious about how students get to this point, check out Spellbound – it chronicles the journey of eight teenagers on their quest to win the 1999 National Spelling Bee. Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

