Miles That Matter

I’ll be back tomorrow with the rest of our beer dinner recap, but for now, I wanted to share some news about my weekend – my second 5K for 2013 is complete!

pikesville 5K

Sunday morning, I was up bright and early to travel to Pikesville for the Pikesville 5K – Miles That Matter. After a disappointing run at the Baltimore Women’s Classic late last month, I knew I wanted to get another 5K under my belt to regain my confidence.

The race began at 8a and by that time the sun was already shining bright and the humidity was palpable. We parked and walked around the race space. The first thing I noticed was that they had nowhere near as many vendors as the BWC. After a quick stretch and warm-up, it was race time! The course was fairly flat, and the miles went by fairly quick. This race had a few turnarounds, which helped keep my motivation up. There were two water stops and the staff at Charm City Run shouted were saying times as we passed each the mile markers for 1 & 2. The post-race spread was impressive – bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, orange juice – you name it, it was probably there.

I finished with a chip time of 28.56, placing 13th in my age group and 186th overall. It was nice to be excited and not disappointed! I knew I slowed down considerably that last mile, but I was okay with that. This article in Runner’s World says that every 5°F rise in temperature above 60°F can slow your pace by as much as 20 to 30 seconds per mile. It was high 70s, so I probably should have taken advantage of the water stops, but wanted to muscle through! The best part of this race was hearing my name as I crossed the finish line. The DJ shouted it out as I crossed and it truly made my race experience that much more enjoyable.

Pikesville 5K bib

Next race: I’m not currently signed up for a race in August, but am following a 10K training program with one in sight before the end of fall. As for 5Ks, the JA recently got fit for new running shoes and custom insoles, so we’re planning on doing the Back to Football Run together in September!

2 thoughts on “Miles That Matter

  1. Pingback: The One That Counts | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

