On Unconditional Love

W puppy cuddles

I took this picture as a part of an inside joke to send to the JA. But after I posted it to Instagram, I had a few thoughts:

1. OMG. I’m that crazy woman who talks about/photographs her dog all the time. However, it seems to work for a few other bloggers (Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point, Tina at Carrots N Cake, Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers, and Gretchen from Honey, I Shrunk the Gretchen come to mind) so I consider myself in good company. Dodged a bullet on that one!

2. Cherish this moment. (Here’s where I get sap-tastic, so consider yourself warned.) As this crossed my mind, my perspective changed. It went from ‘Aw, cute doggie cuddles’ to ‘Eventually, we will have to say goodbye.’ It made me sad, but also happy.

I was experiencing a clear moment of unconditional love. An overwhelming, gut-wrenching, don’t-leave, stop-time moment. A time where life slapped me in the face and made me acknowledge the fact that I am extremely lucky to have things and people in my life that entice these moments out from the everyday ones.

These moments of consuming love aren’t generally loud. They are quiet, and fleeting. Times when I look at my husband and know he wants me to be happy, even of I don’t know quite how to get there. Moments with my sister, when I realize just how much I like having her around because she ‘gets’ me. A random text from a friend, telling me of an instant that day where they were reminded of me. A story from my mother that makes me laugh at how alike we are (and how that’s not necessarily a bad thing). The silent second with my father right before we walked down the aisle on my wedding day that reinforced HIS unconditional love for me, his first ‘little girl.’

When these instances appear, stop. Relish them. Let them wash over you. Take a deep breath, because they will have taken yours away. Give thanks that they are provided to you. This is not just a reminder to you, but to me as well. Too often I get caught up in the minutiae and forget the big picture. But that’s the beauty in life, I guess – always keeps ya guessing ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “On Unconditional Love

    • Thanks, Lauren! There are some really great, BIG moments in life and then there are the small, yet still significant, ones. The trick is to recognize and acknowledge each as important ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

