Stress Relief

As I mentioned earlier this week, life has been hectic. The project I’ve been slaving away at working on launched, but not without a few kinks. Adding those responsibilities to my current ones leaves me feeling like I’m treading water – not exactly moving forward, but not falling behind, either.

I don’t think I had been this stressed out since working at a PR agency. The long hours, the pressure to please, and a looming deadline all produced more than enough frustration, tears, and emotional/physical fatigue. Now that it’s over, I took some time to reflect and came up with the following tips to help handle stress:

stress relief

1. Prioritize. Lists are your friend. You don’t want to miss a deadline or ‘drop the ball’ on something while focusing on another project. Email flags, written lists, and reminders via my smartphone helped keep my cool while staying on track.

2. Procrastinate. After you’ve prioritized what’s most critical, you’ll more than likely have a few minutes to spare. Use it wisely. Rest, relax, and do something you enjoy; it’ll help you be more productive (and happy) in the long run.

3. Praise. Especially if you’re working in a group, make sure that you praise those around you. In stressful times, a ‘good job’ or ‘thanks for working so hard’ can go a long way in boosting morale.

4. Play. The best thing the JA’s done for me these past few weeks is to make me laugh. Not only is laughing a wonderful stress release, but it certainly puts things into perspective. It’s easy to get tunnel vision when you’re entrenched in a project, and playing around helps lift spirits and rejuvenate you – even if for just a few moments.

What’s your best tip for dealing with stress? (It doesn’t have to begin with P – apparently I was in an alliterative mood when I wrote this!)

Leave a Reply

