I Dream of Crow Pose

Confession: I’m not a big stretcher.

This is a problem, especially since I started running. I do a bit of stretching prior to my run and a little afterward, but I have a nagging feeling neither are as much as I should be doing. I also sit at a desk most of the day and, when stressed, carry the majority of it in my right neck/shoulder/upper back.

So when my gym started offering a heated Yogalates class, I was all about it. I’ve only been a few times, and honestly, I don’t know how I feel about it.

Here’s the bottom line: I like Barre because I’m good at it. I danced for a good part of my childhood, and the muscle memory is still there. Running helps me test my endurance and speed. Yoga, although still dealing with balance, strength and posture, is completely different. I do it because it’s a challenge for me. I’m not as flexible as I’d like and I don’t trust myself enough to push my body as much as I could. I do my best, realizing that everyone progresses at their own pace. But we all know I’m impatient.

Therefore, I’ve decided that my October challenge is to work on my flexibility through practicing yoga with a group at least once a week. I’m also going to stretch by myself before hitting the hay each night. This is not a quantifiable goal, but one that (I hope) will help me relax, rejuvenate, and give perspective to my day.

As luck would have it, the lululemon store in Columbia mall is having free community yoga sessions each Sunday this month. FREE YOGA? Done.

columbia yoga

I went yesterday and LOVED the instructor. With people of all levels present, I didn’t feel pressured to perform. It was a wonderful way to start my Sunday – setting the tone for the week ahead while doing something for myself. Another plus? There’s a Starbucks in the mall. Perfect for a post-workout Pumpkin Spice Latte 🙂

PSL

How are you challenging yourself this month?

One thought on “I Dream of Crow Pose

  1. Pingback: Simple Pleasures | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

