Are You Afraid of the Dark?

I know we’re approaching Halloween, but if you were hoping this post would be about the 90’s Nickelodeon television show, it’s not. Sorry to get your hopes up.

Are You Afraid of the Dark

Since the days have been slowly getting shorter and we approach Daylight Savings Time, my morning routine has changed. Instead of having infinite mornings, I’m often rushed – scrambling around the house in an effort to make myself presentable for work & get out the door on time.

What changed? The darkness. I used to be able to get out the door at 6:20a to run. Now, sometimes I don’t feel comfortable even at 6:45a. Add in the fact that getting up and out in the dark/chill isn’t exactly at the top of my list and we’ve got ourselves a dilemma. Stay in bed and have time or get up and exercise? Twenty minutes equates to about two miles and a heck of a lot less hassle.

So what do I do to combat the voice inside my head begging me to stay in bed and skip my run? I set my alarm early, get out of bed and use the four tips to get going.

Fall AM

1. Pack lunch. Gathering snacks the night prior and making my lunch in the morning allows me to continue my healthy habits throughout the day instead of buying lunch. Bonus? More cash in my wallet.

2. Choose an outfit (and iron if necessary). Sometimes, selecting an outfit takes me a good while. Looking good = feeling good. I’m not one to pick what I’m wearing the night before, but laying it out and ironing it makes things a lot easier once I return from my run.

3. Hydrate and eat. Not only does eating in the morning boost your metabolism, but getting something small in my stomach helps me perform better on my run. It also makes me less nervous that I’ll go to work on an empty stomach if things don’t go as planned. (A hungry Jess is never a happy Jess.)

4. Knock small items off my to-do list. I’m not what you call a morning person. So if I wake up and immediately start doing things, I already feel productive. This translates into my exercise routine. If things start out slow, the pace of the morning will follow and it’s more likely I’ll end up being exactly on time or late to work.

How do you manage your routine so you’re not rushed in the morning? Do you change your exercise habits with the seasons?

Leave a Reply

