Hot Air

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned that in part of my prep for the wedding, I pampered myself and got my hair styled. I went to hot air, a blow dry bar located in Owings Mills. It was my first time getting my hair blown out and the first time in over five years that I’ve had someone besides my stylist touch my head.

Yes, I just said five years. Shelly’s been doing my hair for as long as I can remember. She’s my soul sister. She styled me for my wedding, she knows my ‘winter’ blonde, versus my ‘summer’ color, and she knows that I like volume but am scared of hair that’s too big. (I blame dance recitals for that one.)

In short, having someone else touch my hair is kind of a big deal. I made an appointment with Leah, and as soon as I walked in, I knew I would be in good hands. The atmosphere of the space itself is light and bright. I was offered a beverage upon walking in the door, and my purse was taken to the station where I’d be sitting.

photo from company website

photo from company website

photo from company website

photo from company website

I didn’t have a specific idea of what I wanted done with my hair, so when Leah told me that she wanted to do it curly and with volume, I told her to go for it. Why not? As long as everything held until the reception that night, I’d be good.

To be honest, when she finished, I was still a bit skeptical. It seemed big to me (even though it wasn’t). I went home, put on the dress and makeup and fell in love. I mean, I’m not one to brag, but I know when I look good.

JAs lumi wedding

True to Leah’s promise, the hair held through a night of twirling and dipping on the dance floor. Even the next day, it was still going strong!

day 2 hair

All in all, I’d recommend hot air for anyone looking for some pampering. Pricing was reasonable, staff was friendly, the space was clean and the hairstyle was fantastic! They also offer makeup services, so it could serve as a one-stop shop for a bridal party, birthday, or any special occasion.

This post is part of my Try It Tuesday series. I was in no way compensated for this post – just found something I liked and wanted to spread the word! For other Try It Tuesday posts, click here.

2 thoughts on “Hot Air

  1. Pingback: Pretty Sweet | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

