Don’t Know What You’ve Got ‘Til It’s Gone

As I was perusing my News Feed on Facebook yesterday, I noticed a saddening post. One of my sorority sisters shared an article stating that our chapter was closed due to, an “inability to reach the necessary recruitment quota.” Basically, the chapter didn’t have as many members in the chapter as nationals would like and it failed to recruit enough girls during recruitment each year. While it’s upsetting, I’m not as sad as I thought I’d be. Here’s why:

You see, I went to an all-girls high school. I had a taste of sisterhood and bonding and all that jazz before entering college.

I pledged sophomore year and forged great friendships prior to that point. Don’t get me wrong, the sorority helped expand my friend circle and gave me the opportunity to participate in one of my top ten life moments to date – THON. However, my closest friends from college were not members of any Greek organization.

PSU Pouchoey Wedding

Yet, the loss still stings. It is less of a personal loss and more of a mourning for the community. Our sorority was one that accepted a variety of people – we certainly couldn’t be called ‘cookie cutter.’ This great organization brought all of us together and gave some ladies friendships that will last a lifetime. It opened doors for some, it provided mentors for others. It gave a sisterhood bond to all.

In fact, I just heard from my Big yesterday. She sent me a link to a montage of dogs making their escape. (I watched it without Watson – after all his adventures, I don’t need to give him any ideas!)

While I’m not intrinsically tied to Sigma, I’m upset that the memories and opportunities will not be available to the women of Penn State any longer. I am thankful to have spent time with the ladies of the Beta Upsilon chapter, and am sad to know that others won’t have the same experiences we did.

Leave a Reply

