Celebration Weekend

This weekend was all about celebration – I had my first run outside since Christmas Eve and showered a former co-worker (and her baby boy) with love. As for Watson’s Adoption Day celebration, well…we’ll talk about that later.

First – the run. With the colder temps, I’ve taken to running on a treadmill in our school’s brand spankin’ new athletic center. With meetings later in the evening, it was nice to get on campus early and sneak in a quick workout. Bonus? I had the fitness center all to myself!

empty gym

Yet, nothing compares to the feel of the wind in your face (and in this case, the rain on your skin). I set out to complete four miles, and come hell or high water, I was going to finish them. There was rain in the forecast, but I set out – hoping that I would miss it. Welp, in the middle of mile 2 the skies went from foggy to rainy – there might have been some freezing rain at some point, but I muddled through and finished. Good thing I got some reflective gear for Christmas – it was the perfect day to test it out!

run 1-11-14

After drying off, I quickly dressed myself up and heading to my former co-worker’s baby shower. I saw a few old friends, made a couple of new connections and had a blast. We can’t wait to meet you, baby Jack!

KO baby shower 6

Sunday was supposed to be Watson’s 1st Adoption Day celebration. However, after vomiting up three meals straight, we decided that he didn’t need any extra toys/special treats. This, in addition to his recent heart worm diagnosis, led us to joke that his one-year warranty expired. After exchanging a few texts with our vet, we put him on a bland chicken and rice diet for the day and he seems to be doing much better today.

Watson 1st Adoption Day sad

As for us humans, we weren’t going to disinvite our families from dinner and had a wonderful time catching up with our parents. We had such a good time that we agreed to make this a monthly occurrence! The JA and I are very fortunate to have both sides of parents in the area, and can’t wait to share many more meals around our table together.

Watson 1st Adoption Day 1

Running in the rain – yes or no? Any family traditions you’re particularly excited to carry on in your own life?

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

4 thoughts on “Celebration Weekend

  1. What an adorable looking dog! I haven’t been running outside much – mostly because I’m a wimp with the weather, but running in Central Park on Sunday was marvelous indeed πŸ™‚ Happy Monday!

    • Thanks! I’m biased, but I think he’s pretty good looking too πŸ™‚ Central Park is on my list of places to run! I totally get where you come from with the weather. I used to be a wimp when it came to running outside, but after running a 10K in 26F with wind and now the rain I think I can tackle quite a bit. Whether I want to or not is another story πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! (Don’t tell him though, it’ll go to his adorable puppy head.) He’s feeling much better today, but unfortunately won’t be able to join me on any runs soon. He’s great at making me sprint so I’l have to get my speed work in some other way!

Leave a Reply

