Going the Distance

Since the JA was away this weekend, I stacked my Saturday schedule – leaving time to rest & relax yesterday. After dropping him off at the airport, I made my way downtown to meet up with Lauren. We planned a Meg’s Miles memorial run and completed almost 6 miles around downtown Baltimore. I forget how nice it is to have a running partner – the miles go by so much quicker when you’re chatting!

Megs Miles run 1-18-14

In the end, her watch said we completed 5.9 miles – mine said 5.8. Being the Type A person I am, I couldn’t leave being so close to 6 miles. I came home and did a quick lap around my neighborhood – totaling out at 6.5 miles. That’s a personal distance record for me!

I came home and quickly prepped to attend the wedding I hinted about in Friday’s post. It was certainly one for the books!

Pop Pop wedding 1-18-14

Pop Pop has been widowed for almost four years. He and his new wife are old family friends and she lost her husband a while back. They always were close, and started seeing each other a few years after Mom Mom passed. They originally wanted a very small ceremony, but once the family’s got wind of the idea, the event grew to almost 65 people – and that’s just the immediate families of both the bride and groom!

the original bridal party

the original bridal party

A children

A children

The ceremony itself was short and sweet. Many pictures were taken, and speeches were given. Food and drink were consumed, cake was cut, and we all had a very merry time celebrating this wonderful couple. It was said at one point that these two were not replacements for the original spouses – they only wanted to be considered additions to the family. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house after that.

As I mentioned earlier, Sunday was spent doing housekeeping items and relaxing. The JA returned and we ended the weekend with wine and a movie. It was a marvelous weekend, indeed!

cupcake wine

Did you find love in an unexpected place? The JA and I met at our current workplace. I joked to my friends when I got the job that I was hoping to marry a rich alumnus who would allow me to stay home all day. Who knew that my husband was standing right in front of me?!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

11 thoughts on “Going the Distance

    • Running with other people is quickly becoming my preferred way to exercise. I just need to find more friends in my immediate neighborhood for those morning runs!

  1. Oh my goodness, how sweet is that? I love stories like your pop pop’s and his new wife 🙂 I met Joe at a bar, which is funny because I swore I’d never date someone I met there. Funny how the universe makes us eat our words at times 😉

    • A gas station? How many people can claim that as ‘their spot’?! The universe has a funny way of working – glad to know things worked out for you two 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Buddy System | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

