The Buddy System

It’s true. Things are better in twos – Britney & Justin (my teenaged heart is devastated they didn’t work out), pant legs, cookies…you get my point. Yet, the majority of my time running has been solo and I liked it like that. However, I’ve recently found that the buddy system could be much better for me (at least in the winter) and here are some reasons why:

1. Safety – The other day I almost got hit by a car. I’m fine and was more frustrated than anything else. A middle-aged gentleman was crossing a one way street and was looking in the direction of traffic instead of in front of him as he pressed the gas pedal. I was in the cross intersection as he pulled up to his and figured he saw me as he was pulling to a stop. Apparently not. I was lucky enough to get out of the way (it seemed by a hair), but it was a harrowing experience. I’m not saying that I’ll never run by myself again, but when I do, I’ll make sure to wave/scream/jump up and down before crossing an intersection when cars are around.

I was wearing these bad boys, too. How can you not see a woman in bright purple pants?!

I was wearing these bad boys, too. How can you not see a woman in bright purple pants?!

2. Motivation – This morning, we had a two-hour delay. Yet, true to his morning person form, the JA made a plan to be up and at the gym by 6:30a. I, begrudgingly, said I would join him. It turned out to be just the kick in the butt I needed to ramp up my day. 2.5 mile intervals on the treadmill, 1.5 miles on the elliptical, and one mile walk with the pup to cool down = 5 miles before 8a. BOOM.

AM workout 1-23-14

3. CamaraderieRunning with Lauren this past weekend made the bitter cold more manageable. We got to know each other better and both agreed that the almost 6 miles we completed went by much quicker than had we each gone at it alone. Plus, when you’re in house buddy looks like this, how can you say no?

Watson with rope

4. Competition/Accountability – Pride is a big thing for me. I don’t want to be the one to call it quits first. If I say I’m going to be somewhere and there are people counting on me, I’ll be there no matter what. I don’t want to be the first one to ‘chicken out’ and if it’s agreed upon that we’ll do a certain number of miles or a certain speed or a certain new workout (or especially a certain new food), I’m there. Let’s get to it.

Do you find it better to work out with a buddy or by yourself? I’m a big fan of group exercise for a lot of these same reasons, but there’s something to be said about doing things all by yourself.

One thought on “The Buddy System

  1. There are days where all I need is a solo run – time to think, time to blast out my thoughts with music, take in the scenes. Although other days I thrive with group classes or running with friends. It changes all the time.

Leave a Reply

