The Early Bird

Yesterday was insane. My boss is going out of town, we had an event last night, and there was so much going on that I barely had time to breath much less blog.

However, that was just at work. You see, I’m not exactly what you would call a morning person. I would much rather stay up late than get up early, and when I do get up, it’s a process.

When I started running in the morning, I loved it. It helped wake me up, get me motivated, and start my day on the right foot (literally). Yet as the temperatures dropped, the snow and ice formed and the darkness took up more of the morning than usual, I became more and more likely to stay in bed longer. I opted for a short HIIT workout and more time in bed than a run.

So on Thursday night when I told the JA that I would be getting up and hitting the gym, I knew it was a half-hearted attempt at keeping myself accountable. Even as I woke up yesterday morning, I wasn’t exactly thrilled to be heading to the fitness center.

But I got up and did it.

And, MAN, it felt good. I forgot what it was like to be up and moving before the sun rose. That sense of accomplishment knowing that you had already made something of your day when most others were sleeping. The knowledge that even if everything else in the day was crap, this time was worth it.

morning quote

I completed a 2 mile hill workout and 2 miles on the elliptical. I also came home and signed up for me second race of the year – the Sole of the City 10K. This, in addition with the Shamrock 5K, falls perfectly into place if I were to follow Hal Higdon’s Novice Half-Marathon training plan in preparation for the Frederick Half Marathon. It would be my first half, and I’m a little nervous about signing up for it. But what’s the purpose of a big goal if it doesn’t scare you just a little bit, right?

Tips for a first time half marathon trainee? Anyone ready to keep me accountable if I do stop dilly dallying and make the commitment?

2 thoughts on “The Early Bird

    • I’ve found that exercising in the morning makes me a happier person. Even if it’s just a short HIIT workout or some stretching, it brightens my mood tremendously. I can’t wait for the weather to warm up so I feel comfortable hitting the pavement in the morning!

Leave a Reply

