Winter Blues

Not going to lie – with more winter weather looming all weekend I was really hoping for at least a delay today. However, I also knew that since I did some work yesterday to preempt the storm, it jinxed us and we would be on time.

So instead of being grumpy, let’s look back at some brighter times and smile.

This weekend was very low-key for us. Friday night we held game night with our neighbors. It’s become a standing date for us and I think it’s safe to say that we all enjoy it. This week we started by playing the 80s game but quickly scrapped it for Heads Up! – the charades-type game created by Ellen. The Adult Supervision deck = amazingly funny. Especially when you’re trying to have someone guess these words with two younger children in the basement. There was a lot of giggling and whispering!

Saturday is normally my long run day. Yet, with temps forecasted to be 55 on Sunday I rearranged my schedule. We took advantage of the lack of schedule and slowly made our way through the day. We took Watson on a long(er) walk and made a pit stop at the new Dunkin Donuts in our neighborhood, watched some Breaking Bad, napped, and then I went to town shopping. I definitely got the spring/summer fever itch, and had to remind myself many a time of our plan to redo the house one space at a time. Want to see my patience tested? Put me in HomeGoods. Takes a lot of self-restraint to come out of there with only two things.

where's my coffee?

where’s my coffee?

The day ended by meeting up with friends at Pure Wine Cafe. The establishment ran a great promotion over the holidays where they gave you a sealed envelope and if you returned in a certain amount of time with a party of 2+, the server could open your envelope and reveal the prize inside. The end date was slated for 1/31, but we were lucky that they extended it into February. Champagne and free dessert? Yes, please!

chocolate lava cake + champagne = happy girl

chocolate lava cake + champagne = happy girl

Sunday was Run Day. Both the JA and I took advantage of the great weather and ran outside. While my legs were definitely feeling it toward the end of my 4.5 miles, the 9:13 average pace told me that my speed work on the treadmill has paid off. I was happy to see results and even happier that the weather cooperated!

groundhog day run

We had a Super Bowl gathering to attend so I decided to make these quinoa pizza bites from Chocolate Covered Katie. I had been drooling over them all week and while they weren’t what I expected, they were still a big hit. Unlike the game. Right? Best part was Bruno Mars during the halftime show.

never look as good as the original photo, but taste great!

never look as good as the original photo, but taste great!

Anyone else tired of winter?

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

4 thoughts on “Winter Blues

  1. I have the Heads Up app and have had way too much fun with that. We’re hoping to get a game night going sometime soon.. probably going to need to buy the Heads Up game for that. Sounds like a great weekend!

  2. Fun weekend. Congrats on your time improving. Even though speed work can be a pain, it definitely has it’s benefits! Watson looks so cute just starring inside DD. Hope an employee @least gave him a treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

