Looking Back, Moving Forward

Where did the weekend go? Although it wasn’t jam-packed, I still feel that it flew by way too quickly.

Saturday, the JA was in grad class so I was left to my own devices for the majority of the day. I started with a 4.5 mile run that could only end one way – with a treat. I was just getting over my cold, my legs were okay but not great, and so the only easy way to motivate myself was with a treat. A new Dunkin’ Donuts opened close to our house, so I ended my run there. Doing so also gave me the opportunity to have an active cool down – something that I rarely do anymore.

running on dunkin

The day continued with laundry, straightening up and fighting with my computer. I finally downloaded photos to it, freeing up enough space on my phone and allowing it to back up correctly. Yay!

We ended the night with an event at another all-boys high school. Being that I went to an all-girls high school, most of my male friends attended this school. We ate, drank, and were merry. This bad blogger didn’t take many photos, but that’s because I was busy reminiscing with ‘my boys’ and having a blast with their significant others.

so much love in this pic

so much love in this pic from prom 2001

Sunday ended the weekend with a snowy dinner out. We’re so lucky to have found a family who seems faith-filled, grounded, and loving. It’s always a pleasure when they invite us into their home for a meal. With five children, there’s never a lack of conversation!

Sunday also marked the end of week 1 of half marathon training. Yup. As I mentioned last week, I modified Hal Higdon’s Novice 1 Half Marathon Training Schedule. I talked to a few friends at the event on Saturday night and knew in my heart I wanted to do this. It’s a lofty goal for me – especially in thinking about that so-so run on Saturday. But I already have so much support and I’m looking forward to testing myself.

week one is DONE!

week one is DONE!

Let’s get this show on the road!

What’s something that brings you back or is moving you forward?

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

6 thoughts on “Looking Back, Moving Forward

    • Yes! Frederick. Figured it’s ‘close’ enough that I wont have to get a room for the night and have heard so many great things about the race. Might be hitting you up for a run or two before the big day!

  1. Such an exciting weekend – especially for the fact that you finished your 1st week of your 1/2 Marathon plan. I still remember my first week of my 1st 1/2 training plan – what a wonderful feeling it was! Is this your first? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It is my first! I’m still a little nervous thinking about the longer runs (and pacing, and nutrition) but I’m hoping that I’ll figure everything out and be confident come race day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

