Love to be Loved

Valentine’s Day. A day that I used to hate, but has morphed into a holiday I like. Not just because I’m married, but because I’ve learned to celebrate all the love in my life. It certainly made the mushy-gushy-saptastic part of things easier to stomach when I’m thinking in terms of everyone in my life instead of just a significant other.

Valentine’s Day evening, we had what I consider the perfect date – pizza, wine & House of Cards. Holy majoley. We’ve both loved this show since the beginning and it hasn’t disappointed yet. I may or may not have been counting down until the season two launch date for weeks. Now that it’s here, we have to pace ourselves in watching it…which didn’t exactly happen & we’re somehow on the sixth episode already. Oops.

Valentine's Day 2014

Saturday was a really lazy day. With the threat of more snow in the morning, I switched my long run day to Friday and completed a 4-mile interval workout on the treadmill. Not ideal, but I know it’s making me stronger and faster. Making the switch allowed me to be super lazy on Saturday – I don’t think we even showered until noon! We eventually made our way onto campus to watch the basketball team in a semi-final game and then returned home to get ready for our official Valentine’s Day dinner. We ended up at Stoney River Steakhouse and weren’t disappointed – especially since there’s a Cheesecake Factory right across the way. Yum!

dessert

Sunday was catch-up day. Laundry, a quick workout, errands and dinner with our parents. It was a lazy, yet crazy day. I woke up in a funk that just wouldn’t shake. But, in keeping with my year of BE, I tried my best to keep my blessings top of mind. I was thankful for a partner who supports me in everything that I do – from work to working out, I can count on him to help push me do and be better.

His & Hers workout shoes

I also truly feel blessed to have our families within driving distance. While our meal itself wasn’t anything special, the fact that we spent it together provided a great end to the official weekend. (And made me realize that we need a bigger dining room table.)

Sunday night dinner

Today, we got a bonus day off. While it’s not going to be spent in the office, the JA and I still have a lot we both want to accomplish. Watson? Well, he’s got a few naps on his scheduled that need to be kept.

puppy face

Hope your weekend was filled with love!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

One thought on “Love to be Loved

Leave a Reply

