Finding the Marvelous

Some days aren’t that great. We pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and move on. But what if the next day isn’t that great? And the day after that?

This was my weekend. Thursday was GREAT. I mean, fantastic. I had a good day at work, I subbed a barre class (finding my new favorite workout top in the process), joined the JA and some friends for a beverage afterward, and still got to bed at a semi-decent hour.

post barre selfie

Then Friday slapped me in the face hit. It was one of those days where a lot of little things culminate in me eating pizza and drinking a big pour of wine on the couch by myself.  (Side note: Peace A Pizza had become a ‘go to’ for me when I don’t want to cook and want to feel fancy on a Friday night. I’m surprised they don’t know me by name yet.)

pizza and pup

Saturday, I had what I refer to as, ‘funk hangover.’ That time when you’re feeling a little better, but if things don’t go right your mood plummets right back into blah? Getting lost on my already not so fantastic run didn’t help. Game night with the neighbors did. (For some reason, we always end up playing Heads Up and giggling like schoolchildren.)

It's okay, Mom. Let's take a walk and talk about your feelings.

It’s okay, Mom. Let’s take a walk and talk about your feelings.

Sunday started out well, but then turned. We found a blockage in our basement which led to an emergency call to Roto-Rooter. Person showed up late and told us that our pipes are old and the roots of our neighbor’s tree had infiltrated/crushed them. We got a temporary fix, but it’s still going to be a pretty penny to remedy the problem permanently.

Yet, for all this funk, there were bright spots as well. I reminded myself that while my 5-mile run didn’t go well, a year ago I had trouble running a 5K. Watson started his anxiety medicine in prep for his shot tomorrow and we actually found a way to keep him sequestered in ‘his room’! The basement issue happened this weekend instead of next weekend while the JA’s away. There’s more snow here in Baltimore and I was extremely pleased to get the call telling me I didn’t have to report to work today.

happy by the fire

It’s sometimes hard to see, but there’s always something that helps make the day marvelous. Find it, relish in it, and let it help lift you up!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

A big welcome to those visiting me today from Fit Running Mama! Hope you enjoyed my guest post on why I chose to run my first half marathon. I’m excited to get to know you better, so take a look around and don’t hesitate to join on the fun 🙂

6 thoughts on “Finding the Marvelous

  1. Well I hope you enjoyed your snow day! I saw your guest post and decided to come check out your blog, I love finding new bloggers:) Good luck in your half marathon in May!!

    • Thanks! Glad you liked the post 🙂 I’ll be writing about my journey to conquer that distance, so stick around. I’ll need all the support I can get!

    • Thanks, Jessie! I did wallow (and cry) on Friday. It was a rough day, but it brought some realizations to me & made me just a little bit stronger. It’s easy to look back on the tough weekend now, but it was a doozy to deal with when things were happening!

  2. Pingback: Easing In | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

