Proceed With Caution

I’m taking a bit of a detour today from my normal Workout Wednesday post. Don’t worry, it will be back next week! Until then, check out all my workouts by clicking here.

With a two-hour delay yesterday morning due to snow, the JA and I were in the unlucky group of people who got up bright and early. We took the morning slow, adding in lots of puppy cuddles before driving Watson to the vet for his first heart worm shot.

W in car pre-shot

I think I now have a small understanding of what it might be like to drop one’s child off at kindergarten that first day. We were nervous, but put on a strong face as we handed him off to the veterinary technician. Watson’s heart worm is in the very early stages, and we are confident that he’ll beat it. However, there’s that small chance that things could go wrong. Not to mention that he was day boarding at the hospital so our vet could keep an eye on him, and we all know how well he does in crates.

I’m happy to report that the patient did well. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again – our vet is AMAZING. She called a few hours after W got the shot to give me an update and then again later in the evening when she thought he was ready to come home.  Her husband is also a personal friend to my husband, so the JA was lucky enough to receive a few photos throughout the day.

W in crate at vet

I had a late meeting last night preceded by a 4-mile run on the treadmill, so I relied on the JA to give me a full ‘at-home’ update. Apparently, there was a lot of discomfort in the first few hours until W settled down. I came in and was pleased to see that he was waiting at the gate to ‘his room,’ wagging his tail and happy to see me.  Soon after, though, he limped back to a pile of blankets, set his head down, and slept.

W post heartworm shot 1

He had a first good night, but we’ve got a long road ahead of us – two more shots like this in a month and a sedentary lifestyle until he’s officially cleared in November. The lack of walks are going to be difficult for him and for us. We both enjoy exercising with him and giving ourselves some fresh air and time to think. I’ve joined the Fitfluential 100-mile challenge for March to keep my activity level high.

FFMarchMiles

Unlike the Tone It Up Love Your Body challenge I did last month, all these miles have to be walked, ran, or hiked – my group fitness classes don’t count. (Although, reading a post of the Facebook wall says elliptical miles can count toward the goal, helping me out a little bit.) I’m not going to be disappointed if I don’t reach  my goal, I’m still getting deeper into half-marathon training and would rather spend the rest of winter inside with this guy anyway.

happy pup

Here’s a shout out to all the people parents out there. I had trouble letting my pup into the vet. I don’t know how you all cope with letting your kids out into the world. Great job and keep up the good work!

5 thoughts on “Proceed With Caution

  1. Pingback: Five Things That Made Me Think | Just Call Me Janks

  2. Pingback: Can’t Hold Me Down | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

